Help me get an Aadhar

20 07 2017

Being a modest middle class Bihari, I never had a privilege of having all the licenses, proofs, and cards with me when I turned 18. It didn’t bother me much till my college. My struggle with “proofs” and “cards” started with my career. To sum up my background, I was born and brought up in Bihar, graduated in Bengal, started my career in AP, now in Maharshtra.

Passport

Honestly, getting the passport was not that tough. It was a two step process of filling the form and bribing a policeman for address verification. Passport conquered with address of my hostel room at Kharagpur!

Bank Account

Thanks to my then employer that they helped me get my PAN card made via an agent. When the time of openig bank accounts came, we had two options – Axis and Citi. In the batch of new joinees, I was the only one who went with Citi. The reason was pretty simple. They asked for minimal documents as opposed to Axis. Citi chose me! Bank account conquered with address of employer’s office, Hyderabad!

Driving License

I was living on rent in Hyderabad and had my rent agreement. I got my driving license by presenting the rent agreement as a proof of my address. Driving License conquered with address of a rented apartment in Hyderabad.

I now have a passport, a bank account, a driving license with three different addresses mentioned on it and at present, I do not live in any of these three places.

At present, I am staying in a rented apartment in Mumbai. Since I do not own a house, I do not have electricity bill, gas bill, other utility bills on my name.

Aadhar

I don’t have an Aadhar card. I had never believed in it and still don’t agree that it should exist and be mandated. Nevertheless, that’s not the point here. Now, I want to get my Aadhar made as if I don’t get it, I will be barred from all the basic ameneties. Everything is getting linked to Aadhar.

The question now is what “proof” do I present to get Aadhar. From the long list of documents accepted by the Government, rental agreement of Mumbai is the only feasible document. I filled the form and it got rejected!

What do I do now? How do I get past the crooked system of “Address proof”? How do I get my Adhar? Help!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment